Reminders Workflow for Alfred v2

Alfred (software)

Alfred (software) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Update: This version of the workflow has been superseded by a new version described here.

I am now running the beta of Alfred v2. It shows great promise.

I have never been a huge power user of Alfred, I mainly use it as an app launcher and file opener though I have started using it to add tasks to TaskPaper.

Since I have already spent some time figuring out how to create reminders in Reminders using AppleScript then it seemed obvious to extend that to create a workflow for Alfredv2.

Here it is. The workflow, which can be found here, accepts the time in a large range of ways including 24 hour time, the date can use either a ‘-‘ or a ‘/‘ as separator, the time and date can be in either order and if you leave either out then a reasonable default is inserted. Here’s some examples to show you what I mean.

  • “Remind me @due 29/1/2013 4:00PM”
  • “Remind me @due 29–1–2013 4:00PM”
  • “A reminder @due 29–1–2013 4PM”
  • “Bug me @due 29–1–2013 4pm”
  • “Alarm me @due 29–1–2013 4am”
  • “This is the text of the reminder @due 4am 29–1–2013”
  • “Remind me @due 29–1–2013 16″
  • “Remind me @due 29–1–2013 4″ # 4 AM
  • “Remind me @due 29–1–2013 4:15″ # 4:15 AM
  • “Remind me @due 29–1–2013″ # script sets to 9:00 AM
  • “Remind me @due 10:00PM” # script sets to today

The default time, 9AM currently, can be changed at the top of the script for those that like their reminders earlier in the day.

One personal quirk, I have no need for confirmation that the task is done so the AppleScript does not make sure Reminders is running. This means that it will just silently add the reminder. If you have less trust than me then give me a holler and I’ll think about doing some sort of confirmation.

Update: This version of the workflow has been superseded by a new version described here.

Stay tuned for some TaskPaper workflows.

Leave a Reply

